Searching for a product, buyer beware

by certifiedbug on October 23, 2008

in Scareware Rogues

Noted by users, ‘official-download.net’ appears to be selling a product that is presented in such a way as to mislead a person searching for the download page for a well known antispyware program.

Domain Tools.
Related Sites: 2008-official.net
Website title: Earth 2009 Secrets


That’s how the banner appeared yesterday, today it looked like this.

At the bottom of the page in pale grey,

This website has no affiliation whatsoever with the owner of this software program, and provides ONLY a link to the software program. If you are a member and need support please contact us and not the software owner. This Software may be obtained freely New computer users should find our services valuable, and a time saver. If you are an advanced computer user, you probably don’t need our services.

The download button took me to secure.signupsecurity.com and the following steps requiring one fill out an email address, contact information, 1,2 or 3 year membership options and features.

No thanks…

Persistant aren’t they…

http://www.mywot.com/en/scorecard/official-download.net

The real thing: Spybot-S&D©® http://www.spybot.info/

Leave a Comment

Previous post:

Next post: